Extra-Ordinary Characters

Merry Meet All,

I had an upsetting conversation with my older brother a while ago and had to blog about it. I was telling him about my paranormal novel, which he was helping me with. Until now. Once I mentioned my main character was a regular cauldron gazing, earth loving Witch, or regular to me, he said something that blew me away. He told me that I should cast an ordinary character that readers can relate to. While I see what he meant, I was blown away by his response. My character is normal and relatable. He did not read my story and obviously had no respect for my story. Wicca and witchcraft is hugely popular today. Never judge a story till you have read it, is my belief.

He proceeded to tell me after that I should have nothing to do with the occult and arcane. I am a Witch myself. He told me that demons were terrorizing people who were practicing incantations. I have to ask what type of incantations are people uttering to attract such evil? I know for myself that I have never had anything come after me, ever, while practicing my magick and I know that is not just because I ask for energy from the Higher Source. If you want negativity, you will get it. If you want positive energy, you will get it. Ever obey the Rule of Three.

He told me that if something were in my apartment, my cat would alarm me. I do not need my cat to tell me if something evil is in my abode. I would judge for myself. I am sure my cat would inform me but my home is warded and I don’t believe I would attempt to attract that energy nor allow it in my home. Sheesh. I would thank my cat anyway!!! Meow.

He attends church and he is clearly not in touch with the modern world. Kelley Armstrong’s novels are successful and her characters are Witches. I was visibly upset that night and my family criticized me for the types of novels I read, the types of stories I write and so on. I had to face a difficult decision as I felt like I was practically excommunicated from my family. If I have dinner with them and try to be true to myself, it will be hard. How can I be anything other than what I am? I am me and I am what I am. He made me feel like there is something seriously wrong with that. I cannot go to dinner with them again or risk being exposed to the narrow mindedness and prejudice and witch bashing all over again. My bro should visit my apartment at Samhain. He would really see something then.

My older brother has read scarier horror novels than I do and they have watched scarier horror movies that I would not go near yet they are not criticized for it. No, no, only me. Of course. It comes down to a hard decision. I must walk my own Path alone. I am not alone, of course, as there are many Witches enduring the same thing as I write this, I am sure. It seems to me, that my older brother is stuck in the Dark Ages. Now I understand how other Witches felt about not coming out to their near and dear that they are Witches. Must we walk eternally in the shadows? We are in the Light and yet this narrow mindedness has cast a long shadow.

It dismays me that my older brother believes what he does. I have been made to feel this way for being a Witch before by others. People fear what they do not understand. Let us pray to the Goddess that one day we all understand and respect one another.

On a positive note, my snowdrops and crocuses are popping up!!
Blessed Be,
Lady Spiderwitch

Leave a comment

Filed under horror, novels., Witches

Leave a Reply

