Education about Nature

Merry Meet All,

Today I hear the leaves scraping the ground, blown by the wind. The trees are almost bare now and a gray sky darkens the sky. It is early yet but I plan to enjoy a walk on the nature trail. This weekend I plan to go to Twa Corbies and share a wonderful magical weekend with my friends.

Samhain is not just about trick or treating or performing a ritual to honor our ancestors. The dumb supper ritual is a huge part of it, to be sure. I have heard some debate about people attending Wiccan schools to learn about being a witch and those who say if you want a ‘Free’ education to learn to be a witch, just go outside. I’m in favor with the outdoor enthusiasts. To me, the best place to learn is by going outdoors- in all weather.

I scoff at those Pagans/ Wiccans/ what have you, who would never dream of shedding their expensive velvet cloaks and huge silver pentacles. Nothing wrong with having some flair but to freak out if your mascara and glitter runs down your cheek when it’s freezing outside when you are supposed to be honoring the Four Elements of Earth, Air, Fire and Water is so passe to me. Personally I can’t understand that mentality. I have performed rituals outdoors in freezing cold weather. Granted, it would be uncomfortable to perform a ritual skyclad in winter cold outdoors. I’ve never done it but I was cold when I performed a ritual outdoors in the park.

But I digress… Samhain is the time to don your woolly cloaks and venture outdoors to clear the sidewalks, pathways, roads, etc., of the leaves. Put some tea in your thermos, call your friends, and get outside while the awesome colors of nature are there to be enjoyed. If you live in the country, you may be fortunate to hear owls, see deer, coyotes, or rabbits.

It is the time to feel the energy around you and to catch the Fae and Sidhe spying on you. Time to leave offerings to the fae who aided you in your garden all summer. I left an offering of honey mixed with milk and sunflower seeds on my garden. The birds ate the seeds.

Collect nature findings such as acorns, seeds, pinecones, fiery colored leaves, or wildflowers for flower arrangements. Look for animal tracks. Explore a trail you have never noticed before. Enjoy some time spent on the trail or park and meditate to connect with your gods. Test your knowledge about squirrel, crow, or birds calls. Decorate your lawn, deck or garden for Halloween. Bring in herbs or flowers for the winter from your garden.

I grew up in the heart of the Cape Breton Highlands National Park on the Cabot Trail in Cape Breton, Nova Scotia. I was immersed in nature and at nature’s mercy. There is no gas station, hospital, large grocery store, or restaurant there. We learned to live by our wits. I went on whale cruises, learned how to identify herbs, learned how to spot animal tracks, went on hikes, learned how to fish and trim trees,and how to horse back ride and burn brush. If only those Pagans and Wiccans thought that way. They want to learn in a pristine clean environment. I spotted many many moose, heard owl calls, watched blue lightning flash over the ocean, saw eagles soar over the ocean, and watched whales splash and show off. I loved every mintue of it.

The photo is taken from the deck at the chalet in Pleasant Bay, Cape Breton Highlands National Park, Cabot Trail, Cape Breton. Home is where my heart is.

So in closing, please, get outdoors and enjoy nature. Nature is showing off. I think the Goddess took a colorful paintbrush to the trees.

Blessings,
Lady Spiderwitch )0(

21 Comments

Filed under Education about nature

21 responses to “Education about Nature

  1. Yes! Finally something about this topic.

  2. Aɦaa, its good discussion concеrning this post here at this
    webpage, I have rеad all that, so now me ɑlѕo commenting ɑt this
    plɑce.

  3. My partner and I stumbled over here coming from a different website and thought I should check things out.
    I like what I see so i am just following you.
    Look forward to looking into your web page for a second time.

  4. WOW just what I was looking for. Came here
    by searching for fixed equity indexed annuities

  5. Thanks for sharing your info. I really appreciate your efforts and
    I am waiting for your next write ups thank you
    once again.

  6. I appreciate, lead to I discovered just what I used to be having a look for.
    You’ve ended my four day lengthy hunt! God Bless
    you man. Have a great day. Bye

  7. Thanks for any other excellent article. Where else may anyone get
    that kind of info in such a perfect manner of writing?
    I’ve a presentation subsequent week, and I’m on the look for such info.

  8. Hi there, i read your blog from time to time
    and i own a similar one and i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam remarks?

    If so how do you protect against it, any plugin or anything you can advise?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy so any support is very much appreciated.

  9. I’m not sure why but this website is loading incredibly
    slow for me. Is anyone else having this issue or is it a
    problem on my end? I’ll check back later and see if the problem still exists.

  10. Greetings! I know this is somewhat off topic but
    I was wondering if you knew where I could locate a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and
    I’m having problems finding one? Thanks a lot!

  11. It’s actually a great and useful piece of information. I’m glad that you
    just shared this useful info with us. Please keep us
    up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

  12. Hi there, just wanted to tell you, I loved this post. It was helpful.
    Keep on posting!

  13. Your style is very unique in comparison to other folks I’ve
    read stuff from. Thanks for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I’ll
    just bookmark this site.

  14. I’m no longer sure the place you are getting your information,
    but good topic. I needs to spend a while learning much
    more or figuring out more. Thanks for great information I used to be looking for
    this info for my mission.

  15. Having read this I believed it was very enlightening.
    I appreciate you finding the time and energy to put this information together.
    I once again find myself spending way too much time both reading and leaving
    comments. But so what, it was still worth it!

  16. Interesting blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it
    from somewhere? A theme like yours with a few simple tweeks would really
    make my blog jump out. Please let me know where you got
    your theme. Many thanks

  17. Hey there this is somewhat of off topic but I was wondering
    if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.
    I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding skills so I wanted to
    get advice from someone with experience. Any
    help would be enormously appreciated!

  18. Hi, I do think this is a great site. I stumbledupon it
    😉 I will revisit once again since I book marked it.
    Money and freedom is the best way to change, may
    you be rich and continue to help other people.

Leave a Reply

