Samhain on a Shoestring

Merry Meet All,

On Hallowe’en the thing
you must do
Is pretend that nothing
can frighten you
An’if somethin’ scares you
and you want to run
Jus’ let on like
its Hallowe’en fun
– From an Early Nineteeth-Century Postcard

Samhain is tons of magical fun. Many witches this year will be gathering in their covens to celebrate the third harvest Sabbat. Costumes, decorations and candy can become expensive. Read more to learn how to celebrate and have a memorable time.

If you or your child needs a costume, you can either sew the costume yourself or look in a thrift store for a costume. My sister visited me and came home with a bag of free material for a costume for her daughter. Hold a costume swap with your friends and make the costume swap into a party.

You can still have some spooky decorations to give trick or treaters the shivers when they come to your door. Scarecrows are easy to make. You need some sturdy wooden sticks, old clothing, and they can be stuffed with leaves. Cobwebs are affordable and can be strung across a fence for a spooky look. To make bats, shun the expensive cardstock and use bristleboard for a scary troop of bats that can be holepunched and hung from trees to spy on eager children.

Buy candy in bulk and consider buying just one or two kinds of candy. Raisins are a good, healthy snack and chocolates can be bought in bulk to save money. Buy candy in bulk from Costco and divvy it up between you and your friends for the big night.

Save the decorations that you make for Halloween for the following years. Or reuse a black cape from a previous costume for a new costume idea this year. I was gifted with a black wool cloak that can be reused every year.

Get decorations from the dollar store. That is a great way to have decorations without spending a lot of money. Save them and keep them in good condition for next year’s freakfest. Get inspired from the entries from this blog, such as the bat mobile. That can be saved for several Halloween parties.

Carve a pumpkin on the day of Samhain. Buy a few more for baking and cooking. Make Samhain shortbread cookies. You can buy Halloween cookie cutters at the dollar store that can be reused every year. Roast the seeds and make a pot of delicious healthy pumpkin soup.

Make a cd of scary tunes. Set your stereo outside and crank up the volume. Use an extension cord to be able to play the music outside. Hide and dress up in a costume. Watch the kiddies scream with glee when they come to your door for candy.

I hope these tips help you and get you in the mood for a sensational, spine-tingling Samhain.

Blessed Be,
Lady Spiderwitch

8 Comments

Filed under Samhain, shoestring

8 responses to “Samhain on a Shoestring

  1. Nice post. I learn something new and challenging on blogs I stumbleupon everyday. It will always be interesting to read through articles from other authors and use a little something from their web sites.

  2. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be really something which I think I would never understand. It seems too complex and very broad for me. I’m looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

  3. Samhain on a Shoestring | Broomsticks & Cauldrons: A magickal journey to the Goddess
    fnwosvtphk http://www.gh7a5c42te5m206omhbai3dn17878l21s.org/
    afnwosvtphk
    [url=http://www.gh7a5c42te5m206omhbai3dn17878l21s.org/]ufnwosvtphk[/url]

  4. Hello I am so thrilled I found your web site, I really
    found you by mistake, while I was browsing on Aol for something
    else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say kudos for a
    fantastic post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the
    theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the
    minute but I have saved it and also added your RSS
    feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a
    lot more, Please do keep up the superb work.

  5. Hello would you mind letting me know which webhost you’re working with?

    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different internet browsers and I
    must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most.
    Can you recommend a good internet hosting provider at a reasonable
    price? Cheers, I appreciate it!

  6. I for all time emailed this blog post page to all my contacts, as if like to read it after that my friends
    will too.

  7. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting
    my own blog and was wondering what all is needed to get set up?

    I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I’m not very web savvy so I’m not 100% sure.
    Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated. Cheers

  8. An impressive share! I have just forwarded this onto a friend who was conducting a
    little homework on this. And he in fact ordered me breakfast because I stumbled
    upon it for him… lol. So let me reword this…. Thanks
    for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending time to talk about this
    topic here on your blog.

Leave a Reply

