Christmas vs. Yule having Christmas dinner with a Muggle Family

Merry Meet All,

Yule is almost here! Yule is eight days away. I have been preparing here for the big day. I decorated my apartment with what I aleady own and am making Yule incense. I dried orange peel in the oven. Every time I open the container, it smells great. I also checked my candle supply. It’s a good thing that mini candles and tealights are affordable. I received my pentagram cookie stamp in the owl mail this week. I am all set to do some holiday baking too. I sent Christmas cards to my favorite people and near and dear.

I also have to think about possibly spending Christmas with my non pagan family. I am not looking forward to it. I stand out like a sore thumb. I have already been attacked by them for my religious views and lifestyle. I do not feel like experiencing that again. I would almost prefer to spend the day alone. My older brother wants nothing to do with me because of what I am and yet my family accuses me of being judgemental.

So I have to decide what to do. Some family members will be upset if I don’t show up, but if I do, I am walking into the proverbial starved lion’s den. So I think that I wil make it clear ahead of time that I do not want to be gobbled up by the lion or fed to its cubs. It does not make sense to me that I should spend time with people who hate me the rest of the year and paste smiles on our faces. Pass the gravy with the kitchen knife, please?

I am sure there are many other pagans experiencing the same thing or feeling nervous about attending Christmas dinner. Well remember to stay calm, avoid drinking too much alchohol, and to try not to argue with (closeminded) family members. Alcohol makes you say things you may regret. Remind yourself that you are visiting and thank the Goddess that you do not need to live with these muggles. You do eventually get to go back home to your sage and salt and altar. There, you can let out your frustrations till next Yule.

Blessed Be,
Lady Spiderwitch

Leave a comment

Filed under Christmas, non pagan family, Yule

Leave a Reply

