Organic Heirloom Gardening

Merry Meet All,

I visited the local farmers market this weekend. I bought two packets of organic heirloom seeds: dil and brandywine tomatoes. I can’t wait to see them bloom into beautiful plants. I used an egg carton for growing the plants from seed. I put holes in the bottom of each hole for water drainage and added the soil and seeds and a blessing from the Goddess. I put the carton onto a tray and stored the tray on a windowsill. I put plastic over the egg carton to trap moisture.

The seeds are locally grown and open-pollinated. The company called Annapolis Seeds is from the Annapolis Valley. They strive for a diversity of seeds that can thrive in our climate. The seeds come from growers committed to sustainable farming methods. The seeds are 100% non GMO (genetically modified).

Egg cartons are ideal for growing plants. They are a good size, easy to use, and recyclable. You can use whatever strikes your fancy but bear in mind, it has to have drainage holes in it. You can use coffee cups, plant holders, even buckets.

I look forward to watching my plants grow. I hope this post inspires you to get started on your spring seedlings. I plan to grow more seeds this spring such as sage, thyme (the plant pot is sitting in a gold brass cauldron on my windowsill.) I bought the thyme plant- a favourite of faeries- at the Farmers Market this weekend. I also bought some organic homemade Earth Child Patchouli scented soap. I am all ready for spring.

Blessings,
Lady Spiderwitch

Leave a comment

Filed under Farmers market, gardening, heirloom seeds, organic, seeds, spring

Leave a Reply

