A Poem for Spring

Merry Meet All,

Last night I attended an Open Heart Forgery poetry reading at Coburg Coffee House in Halifax. The reading was held there instead of its usual location at JustUs Coffeehouse on Spring Garden Road. The hours were different. My usual friends and fellow scribes were there.

I arrived late and sat down. Someone was in the midst of reading her poem. I settled in to enjoy the reading. I met some new people there. Athena, the daughter of the lady who helps run the Poetry Show was there. She is the cutest baby ever and likes to reach for anything within her grasp. I enjoy hearing the poetic efforts of my friends. There is magic in words.

Open Heart Forgery is a monthly journal of poems and lyrics that aims to energize local writers from the grass roots up. I enjoy attending the readings and reading new poems each month. The journal is published monthly and distributed around the city in different venues, such as libraries, on buses, and other places. The link to the website is: http://www.ohForgery.com. . The poetic journals are distributed for free.

By the end of the reading, people left and returned to their more mundane activities. I was surprised to be offered a ride home as well as my friends. We were spared the horrors of Metro Transit for that night at least. We all chatted on the ride home.

April is National Poetry Month. March, being the month that heralds in spring, means I had to write a poem. It is not in the monthly journal. I left my draft of my spring poem at home. But we can all find a way to share poems with each other and share in the magic of words. I am going to leave you with my poem that I composed last night before the reading.

Spring’s Rebellion

A gray ceiling hangs overhead
Frail leaves scrape on concrete
in the cold pale morning.

Tiger lily buds emerge from brown grass
and patches of snow. Hope stirs as
winter’s barren rule comes to an end.

Create poems! Let them grow and spring from the mud like buds and blossom into poems! April is National Poetry Month. You can write the poems in your Book of Shadows and ask that your chosen deity or Spirit guides you and inspires you. I am now making it my goal to compose poems in a journal rather than on scraps of paper so next time I am organized- and then have to share them with readers.

Blessed Be,
Lady Spiderwitch )O(

Leave a comment

Filed under fellow poets, National Poetry Month, Poems, poetry, spring, spring poems, Spring's Rebellion

Leave a Reply

