An indoor organic vegetable garden

Merry Meet All,

Here are some tips to inspire and energize you for growing seedlings. Think you can’t have an organic indoor veggie garden, at least for growing seeds into seedlings? Think again.

If you have been following my indoor garden veggie salad adventure, then this will be no surprise. But I will recap for those who haven’t. I began with my trays and flats, which I sterilized before starting soil in. I also set on the seed flats in a large glass baking dish. This makes it easier to water, as I can water from below and not need to worry about water dripping everywhere. That helps plants develop strong roots and does not disrupt the tender emerging roots.

I planted the organic vegatable seeds in the mix, watered and fertilized, and set them in the flats. I also wrote down what I planted where so I could remember what I planted. I used an egg carton as well to hold seeds and soil. Now I have tiny shoots emerging and I wish i could impress upon you all just how exciting is to watch them grow. The seeds receive tons of sunlight and a breeze from the open window.

As an extra, I cut a bit off from the bottom end of a scallion and stuck that in some soil. The scallion roots took hold and the scallion is now a few inches high. I also sliced off an inch or two from the top of a carrot and suspended the carrot top in a bowl of water. Tiny carrot tops now reach for the sun.

I started a tomato plant from seed this spring too. I fermented the seeds and saved them in a freezer for a few days. I put the seed in soil in a Jiffy pot, left the seed in the pot in a dark corner for a few days and honestly forgot about it. I checked sometime later and removed the pot from the dark glass, and placed the seedling to grow in the sun on a windowsill.

I just transplanted my tomato seedling into a recycled milk carton. I cut the milk carton in half, cut a hole in the bottom for drainage, added a clear quartz crystal to stop the soil from spilling out, + moistened the potting mix. I dug out the tomato seedling from the Jiffy pot with a fork, and planted it carefully in the milk carton, nestling it securely in the damp soil. I fertilized it with my organic Neptune’s harvest fish emulsion fertilizer, and some stuff that encourages deep root growth, and set the carton on the tray with the other seedlings. Now the tomato plant can grow strong roots. This is important so it can grow healthy ripe tomatoes. This may all seem like a lot of effort at first, but it is all vitally important for the plant. There is lots of room in the milk carton for the roots to form.

The tomato transplant is shown in the milk carton in the photo below:

I have turned a large glass container into a jar for compost tea for my garden. I fill it with eggshells, coffee grains, teabags. I set a plastic bag over the lid and tied an elastic to secure the plastic and keep pests out. You cannot use a glass lid or the jar will explode. The compost tea will be for my garden. I also mixed five bags of soil over my garden and fed it a healthy dose of the last of my bonemeal. The garden looks purdy with dark rich organic black soil. Plants will emerge and grow strong now.

I have an indoor veggie garden! Of course, soon the frost will pass, and I can tuck my seedlings outdoors in the large planter, where they will receive light. Their roots will have more room to grow. Of course, the bugs may want their share. I plan to set a type of protective cover over the seedlings, like chicken wire. I have planted lovage from seed and I am waiting for the lovage to germinate. Lovage looks like celery and smells more like aniseed. So it is exciting, this venture of mine. I promise to update you all regularly on how it goes. Till then, happy planting!!

Blessed Be,
Lady Spiderwitch )O(

Leave a comment

Filed under carrots, egg cartons, environmentally friendly, fertilizer, Indoor vegetable garden, milk cartons, organic, peas, recycling, scallions, watering

Leave a Reply

