Ostara Altar Decorating and Solitary Ritual

CIMG1525

Merry meet all,

Ostara Altar Decoration and Ritual

The Full moon reigned in the starry skies last night. She shone beautifully over my apartment. In honor of the Goddess, I baked two loaves of bread. This has been a long and expensive goal of mine. Every time I tried to bake bread, the yeast didn’t rise. After some research on my part, I finally mastered a few tricks to baking bread. I purchased a thermometer and some yeast and organic flour. The water has to be at 100 %f. I tried a tablespoon of sugar and mixed in the yeast. I finally had success. I also made a pot of squash soup. I can’t wait for lunch!

My goal of making my own bread connects with a larger goal of mine. I am endeavouring to become more self-sustaining. I know the world is in a crisis and I am trying to be more self-reliant. I plan to grow a lot of food in my garden. I plan to grow only organic food. This can be done. I am aware of which companies sell local organic seed and I am purchasing my seed from them. It is immensely satisfying to harvest food grown from seed. It takes some beating. 

We are three days from Ostara! There is another cause for celebration. Spring Equinox is almost here. Here are some suggestions on how to decorate your altar for Ostara and a ritual. 

Spring is about fresh new colours, like the colours of spring blooming forsythias, crocuses, and daffodils. Purple, lilac, bright yellow, and pastels are good choices for an altar cloth. Cheer the altar up with colourful bright candles to represent the Elements. 

Ostara symbolizes the balance between light and dark. Represent this polarity on your altar by adding a god and goddess statue, black and white candles, a moon and sun symbol. Also, think of adding symbols of new life on your altar. Use animal figurines, potted plants, baskets of eggs, and bowls of milk. Sprinkle the milk on the earth when you are finished with it. 

Now that your altar is dressed, we can move on to the ritual. Ostara is the polar opposite of Mabon. Represent that on your altar with yin yang symbols or black and white candles. You will need 3 candles- one yellow, one green, and one purple candle. A bowl of milk and a bowl of honey and sugar. 

Perform this ritual outdoors if you can. Focus on your surroundings. Take three deep breaths to clear your mind, body, and soul. Reflect on the changing of the seasons. See the grass turn green, the buds on the boughs, and hear the birds herald spring. Light a green candle and say:

The Wheel of the Year turns again, and the vernal equinox rises. Light and dark are equal, and the soil grows. The earth awakens from its long slumber, and life springs forth once more. 

Light the yellow candle, representing the Sun, and say:

The Sun grows in strength, warming the earth and buds with glowing rays. Life stirs where the sun shines. 

LIght the purple candle. The purple colour represents the Divine, the god and/or goddess, and the mystery of the Divine. 

Say: Light and life come forth at the venal equinox. The Divine emerges with the soil, buds, and baby animals. Welcome Ostara! Welcome spring. 

Meditate on what the 3 flames represent. Blend the milk and honey together and pour it on the ground, as an offering to the earth. Chant as you do this. When  you are ready, end the ritual. 

Blessed Be,

Lady Spiderwitch )O(

8 Comments

Filed under Ostara, Ostara Ritual

8 responses to “Ostara Altar Decorating and Solitary Ritual

  1. Hello there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you
    if that would be okay. I’m definitely enjoying your
    blog and look forward to new posts.

  2. Hello there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you
    if that would be okay. I’m definitely enjoying your
    blog and look forward to new posts.

  3. Your means of telling the whole thing in this article is really fastidious, all can without difficulty
    understand it, Thanks a lot.

  4. Hello outstanding blog! Does running a blog such as this
    require a massive amount work? I have very little knowledge of coding
    but I had been hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyway,
    if you have any recommendations or techniques for new
    blog owners please share. I understand this is off topic but I simply wanted
    to ask. Thanks a lot!

  5. Wow, marvelous blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?
    you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is excellent, let alone the content!

  6. I am sure this post has touched all the internet
    viewers, its really really good article on building up new webpage.

Leave a Reply

