Costumes for the Beltaine Faire

renaissance gown

Merry meet all,

The next turn in the Wheel of the Year is Beltaine!! I can hear the excitement from here. I have been hard at work on a costume for the Beltaine faire. There is a funny story connected to this. 

I thought, ‘what a cool costume’. Unbeknownst to me, the costume I fell in love with was a bar wench costume. I asked a savvy librarian what the costume was and she told me. I did a little research on the costumes then. A bar wench worked and she would have worn certain colours back then and a certain style. For example, you couldn’t wear certain colours or fabrics. You had to dress for your class. You could wear brown, beige. Cool colours like turquoise, blue, fuchsia were not allowed. Plain simple fabrics were allowed. The rich could afford the finer styles and fabrics. 

The full skirt is brown, the peasant blouse is pink, the overskirt is burgundy and the vest is brown and lined with a pretty beige fabric. I will post a photo of my costume later. I love my costume and when I tried it on, I felt sexy and saucy. I didn’t want to take it off. One good thing about sewing your own costumes is the items are more tailored to fit your body. The vest is a bit snug but once the grommets and lace are in, I hope I feel okay.  The photo above is not the costume I made but I posted it so you can see the costume style. 

The Beltaine Faire is on May 10th. I eagerly anticipate the Faire. There are prizes for the best costume! May the best bar wench win!

The Full Moon starts on April 15th. Remember to cleanse your crystals and burn a white candle  to honor the full moon. We are entering the Maiden aspect of the Triple Goddess. 

Blessed Be,

Lady Spiderwitch )O(

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Costumes for the Beltaine Faire

  1. Appreciating the persistence you put into your
    website and detailed information you offer. It’s nice to
    come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed material.

    Excellent read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google
    account.

  2. I’ve been exploring for a bit for any high quality articles or weblog posts in this
    sort of house . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this site.
    Studying this info So i’m glad to convey that I’ve a very good uncanny feeling I
    found out exactly what I needed. I most undoubtedly will make certain to don?t omit this web site and provides it a glance regularly.

Leave a Reply

