The Beltaine Faire

CIMG2298

Merry meet all,

Yesterday I attended the Betane Faire. It was cloudy and overcast and rainy. We were determined to have fun and not let some weather stop us. The photo above shows Amanda Scott proudly displaying the beautiful altar. I brought a large piece of driftwood from the beach to the ritual. The driftwood symbolized antlers and so was well suited as part of the altar layout. 

The Faire held a potluck, a BBQ, vendors, workshops and Reiki treatments. I had a Reiki treatment which made me feel better since I was a little hungover. I visited the vendors and got to see some familiar faces. 

The Ritual was held outdoors despite the rain. Animal pelts, drinking horns, cauldrons, and censers decorated the altar. There were three cauldrons on the ground. Two were smaller and one was large. We took turns during the ritual to jump over the fire, a popular tradition. I did, despite my long skirts. The ritual was enjoyable and very spiritual. I didn’t participate in the Maypole because my costume was delicate. I watched the people perform the Maypole. The fire kept us all warm. The rain didn’t interfere or ruin the ritual. The rain quenched the earth and encouraged the fresh new spring growth of plants. 

The crowning of the May Queen was held and a crowning of the May King. I was shy but encouraged to participate. I didnt’ win. This little girl who deserved it more did. 

CIMG2304

After, we all joined inside the UU church for the feast. I always enjoy that part because I get to talk to people and enjoy great food. Soon everyone ate and then mingled. A 50/ 50 draw was held and a Best Costume prize. The prizes were divided among three winners. I was one of them. I have a lousy memory so I can’t recall the other winner. 

Soon the Faire ended. I said my goodbyes and headed home. I was anxious to be free of the corset as I was experiencing some difficulty in breathing. I was exhausted as were many others. 

The next turn in the Wheel of the Year is Litha, or Midsummer. The Full Moon approaches and I shall enjoy my awesome Moon tea from a friend. 

Blessed Be,

Lady Spiderwitch )O(

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “The Beltaine Faire

  1. Hey There. I found your blog the use of msn. That is a very neatly written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to learn extra of your helpful info. Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely comeback.

  2. Hello, its pleasant piece of writing concerning media print, we all be familiar with media is a enormous source of facts.

  3. The Beltaine Faire | Broomsticks & Cauldrons: A magickal journey to the Goddess
    nqiygtscnr http://www.g23mx6wz052a641ibt1y3mai5fu55i56s.org/
    anqiygtscnr
    [url=http://www.g23mx6wz052a641ibt1y3mai5fu55i56s.org/]unqiygtscnr[/url]

  4. Wow, that’s what I was searching for, what a stuff! present here at this webpage, thanks
    admin of this web page.

  5. Thanks for a marvelous posting! I really enjoyed reading
    it, you might be a great author.I will make sure to bookmark your blog and will eventually come back very soon. I want
    to encourage you to ultimately continue your great job, have
    a nice afternoon!

  6. I’m not sure exactly why but this blog is loading incredibly slow for me.
    Is anyone else having this issue or is it a problem on my end?
    I’ll check back later and see if the problem still exists.

  7. Hey! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came
    to check it out. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Terrific blog and terrific design and style.

  8. Hi there, just became alert to your blog through
    Google, and found that it’s really informative. I’m gonna watch out
    for brussels. I’ll be grateful if you continue this in future.
    Lots of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  9. Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it.

    Look advanced to more added agreeable from you! However, how could we
    communicate?

Leave a Reply

