Samhain feasts

dinner

Merry meet all,

Yesterday I was invited to a Thanksgiving dinner at the last minute. I soon found myself in a lovely home run wild by cats and dogs. The dinner was a beautiful and well cooked Turkey pot pie. I highly recommend that dish. I should ask for the recipe. It can’t be hard to cook because it is a dish to enjoy.  Here is a picture:

dish
After that wonderful dinner, we each read tea leaves for each other. It has been so long since I read tea leaves. I was happy to have the chance and we all had fun. Before I knew it, it was time to leave.

Samhain is almost here. I just bought a lovely cookbook titled Celtic Folklore Cooking, just in time for the season. I plan to try the many wonderful recipes. I am enjoying learning much about my Celtic ancestors. My maternal grandmother was from Edinburgh, Scotland where reading tea leaves and tarot were common practice. My father was Viking. My grandfather from my mom’s side of the family was from Ireland and is French Acadian. It runs strong in my blood. It makes sense too that I would enjoy this cookbook. 

SAMHAIN CORRESPONDENCES

  • Date: October 31st
  • Other Names: Halloween, Hallowmas, Samana, Smahuinn, All Saints Day, Ancestor Night, Feast of the Dead
  • Celtic Deities: Cerridwen, Gwyn ap Nudd, crone goddeses
  • Customs: Bonfires, pumpkin carving, Dumb Supper ( meal eaten in silence to which the dead are invited)
  • Symbols: Jack O Lanterns, corn husk dolls,  poisonous herbs, skulls, black cats, bale fires
  • Incenses: Apple, mint, nutmeg, heliotrope, sugar
  • Sacred Foods: Acorns, apples, red meats, red wine, root and vine veggies such as squash, potatoes, parsnips, carrots, turnips, etc)
  • Time: Midnight

* From Celtic Folklore Cooking, page 11

We’ll talk more here about Samhain. Enjoy the season

Blessings, Lady Spiderwitch )O(

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under artemisia, autumn, autumn magic, blessing, bonfire, Cakes and Ale for Samhain Rituals, Samhain, Samhain candle magick, Samhain Celtic New year, Samhain Potions, Samhain Ritual, Samhain Soiree, Samhain Superstition and Lore, the Crone, The Crone of Winter Solstice, The Gods of Samhain, The Other Side, the unknown, The Veil to the Unknown, time of Crone, Traditions of Samhain, upcoming autumn harvest, veggies

2 responses to “Samhain feasts

  1. Hello There. I discovered your weblog the use of msn. This is a very well written article.

    I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to read more
    of your helpful information. Thanks for the post.
    I will certainly return.

  2. WOW just what I was searching for. Came here by searching for blogroll

Leave a Reply

