Autumn Beauty

CIMG2835

Merry meet all,

The month of September ushers in Mabon. The leaves crackle, the sky is bluer, and pumpkins appear on peoples’ doorsteps. I saw one, I know. My garden is winding down for fall. It makes me sad and thrills me at the same time. 

Mabon occurs on September 21st. It is a time of balance. The two opposites are in balance. It heralds autumn equinox. It’s the second harvest Sabbat. The next  and final one is Samhain. I love Mabon. To me, its a magical time. Since I live near a nature trail full of trees, the sight of the trees regaled in autumn colours is breathtaking. I will miss my garden this fall and winter but I live for October. 

The photo above shows the chinese lanterns I harvested from my garden. Now is the time to harvest, clean up the garden, and prepare it for winter. I plan to do that this weekend. I let the leaves blanket the soil and plants all winter. I heard leaving apples on the garden all winter nourishes the soil too. I want to try that. The plants die back and are added to the soil, enriching it. Last fall, after I planted my bulbs and garlic, I spilled the peas and beans soil- once they were harvested, over the soil where the spring bulbs and garlic were planted. I composted my pumpkin there. I never saw the pumpkin in the spring but I know it helped enrich the soil. 

At Samhain, you can decorate your garden. Add mums, pumpkins, and rake the autumn leaves. Pile the leaves up and fall onto them! Collect a few pumpkins together and take photos. Add chinese lanterns, acorns, pinecones, squashes and take an ‘autumn harvest’ photo. I never got squashes from my plants sadly. They will be in stores for sure. Enjoy pumpkin soup in hollowed out pumpkins. Mmmm. Add your cauldron to the harvest photo with smoky incense billowing from it to complete the scene! 

Last year, I left acorns as offerings to my garden. Well one sprouted and I transplanted it to the back of the garden. I just scattered rose seeds in the soil and my mandrake seeds. I hope something grows from that. I will know in spring or maybe before the frost this year. I planted something from my Mom. It might be a stinging nettle but it’s hard to say. I will know soon. Being a gardener means trying things and seeing if they work. I planted honesty seeds and didn’t get much from that. Maybe the soil is the problem. 

There are lots of ways to enjoy this festive season. Comment and post your suggestions here. I look forward to reading them. 

Blessings, Lady Spiderwitch )O(

Leave a comment

Filed under acorns, afternoon, Altars for Samhain Rituals, an organic tradition, autumn, autumn magic, bonfire, greening your pumpkin, Harvest Moon, healing properties of herbs, Mabon, Mabon altar, Mabon divination, Magic Cat, Magic of autumn, magick

Leave a Reply

