Thrifty at Yule

yule altar frost

Merry meet all,

Yule is one of the eight Sabbats that a Witch celebrates during the year. Yule welcomes the return of the sun. The Holly King and Oak King battle for who shall reign. It is a fun time for all. It can also be costly. Here’s how to overcome that. 

You don’t need a huge tree to have the perfect Yule/ Christmas celebration. I use a tiny fake tree in my apartment and decorate it every year. I set down a deep green cloth then set the tree on and have fun dressing it up. I hung a sachet of spicy herbs that correspond with Yule- see previous post for a recipe idea. I bought a candle decoration- (a house). I bought a small tree candle that I will burn on Yule day. Decorations don’t have to be expensive: they should speak to the heart. I have some tree decorations I have had since I was a child and I am likely not the only one. 

A jug of cider, apples, cinnamon sticks, spices and herbs. oranges, pomegranates, cookies, and eggnog add zip and spice. Sometimes a box of decadent chocolates can be found on sale. Do try to buy organic food or at least nutritious food. My Mother volunteers at a food coop and shares the surplus of organic veggies with me. That is one great way of getting healthy food at a free price! 

The holidays are stressful and on pets too! All the human traffic, decorations, and chaos can ruffle your BFF’s feathers or fur! Be mindful and observant of them. If they seem too stressed by your relatives visiting, relegate them to a quiet room or take them outside. Just remember to rescue them from freezing! You can buy socks and actual coats for your furry friends. 

Most people have a hard time with buying gifts for their loved ones at Yule/ Christmas. I have a few helpful hints: If you really know the person, it’s easy. You know their preferences and opinions on things, their likes and dislikes. Yes your pets count too. Generosity can be shown in alternative ways. Clean someone’s car for them. Fill it with gas for them. Shovel their sidewalk or walk the dog for an afternoon. I obliged to take my Mom’s food to be composted in the green bin for her when she was feeling ill. Let someone ahead of you in line at the grocery store if they have only 1 or 2 items to pay and you have 50. Little acts of kindness go a long way. Someday they will do the same for you. People remember kindness. You will feel better about yourself. This will get you more in the spirit of Yule. 

I always send cards to some near and dear loved ones. It’s not for everyone. My grandmother snail mailed me $200 so I sent her a card. I also plan to send a card to the young girl Safyre Terry who lost her family due to arson. She has received tons of cards. But it means something and that’s what makes it special. A homemade gift means a lot too!

Despite our differences, and our love hate relationship, and the fact that I honor Yule more than Christmas, I am still sharing a dinner with my Mother on the 25th. ( I don’t have to cook and I couldn’t anyway). It is a real treat because my Mother is the most amazing cook ever. I would prefer that over the terrible meal from the Food Bank sent to me over last Yule. I mean, it was terrible. I get a gorgeous meal with my Mother. Yeah not a hard choice. 

YOU ARE NOT TAKING YOUR CREDIT CARD TO THE GRAVE

Whatever you decide, I wish you all a Merry Yule/ Christmas.

Bright Blessings. 

Lady Spiderwitch 

Leave a comment

Filed under Yule incenses, Yule log, yule magick, Yule Sabbat Simmering Potpourri, Yule Stockings for the whole family

Leave a Reply

