Flower Power

CIMG3014

Merry meet all,

Insects love plants. They want to help pollinate your plants or eat your plants. Insects flock to my garden in droves with a hunger for my plants or a thirst for pollen. I just photographed a nasturtium and discovered an aphid on it. A little green bug scurried for cover. It keeps them away from the other tasty plants. 

I have found a deterrent for slugs in my garden. Can you guess it yet? Ok eggshells. I have saved all my eggshells to scatter around plants on the soil. It works! slugs don’t like slithering over sharp edges or objects. Diluted dish soap will work too. If anyone has any other nontoxic suggestions for insecticides, I would love to hear them. 

That all said, I have fallen irrevocably in love with nasturtiums! I don’t know why I didn’t grow them before. My gosh, I love them. Well they are now a mainstay. I plan to save the seeds and the seeds from many other of my plants. It saves money to start plants from seed and is not hard to do. My biggest challenge of when to start from seed is knowing when to. I started my tomato plants from seed late. 

All summer, I fed my adorable guinea pig named Magic the dandy dandelions from the yard. He didn’t protest when I fed him the fresh vitamin rich leaves. The lawn is mowed. I could go farther up the nature trail to feed him dandelions. Burdock grows profusely on the nature trail and is ideal for prosperity magic. Now that the moon waxes, I may gather some for that purpose. 

I grow raspberries and rhubarb in the garden. I made my own homemade berry jam with the garden grown fruit! Yes I do own a canning kit and booklet and finally had the chance to put it to good use. So now I own 1 1/2 Mason jars of berry jam. Mmmm so good. I plan to brew more ‘potions’ in my kitchen witch kitchen. That’s why harvest time is so awesome! It’s time to get witchy in the kitchen with herbs from your own garden. 

Good luck to you as you brew your own Potions!

Blessings, Lady Spiderwitch 

Leave a comment

Filed under autumn magic, gardening, herbs, organic, seeds

Leave a Reply

