Ides of March

CIMG2938

Merry meet all,

Snow huddles over the grass. The air is still cool but March is the in between month. Winter lingers but spring fights back. The next turn in the Wheel of the Year is Ostara. Ostara is the second spring Sabbat.

To celebrate the early return of spring, I rummaged through my seed packets stored above my fridge. I kept the seed packs in paper envelopes in a plastic ziploc bag. I put dill seeds, echinacea seeds, lavender and thyme seeds in the paper towels. I prefer growing from seed since you can actually grow more of the same plant that way. I look forward to planting them in the spring.

The spring equinox occurs on March 20th. Ostara, or Eostre, inherits its name from the Teutonic goddess of spring and dawn. The origin of the word ‘east’ comes from many Germanic words for dawn that have in common the root for the word “aurora” which means ‘to shine’. Ostara basically means the vernal equinox.

Ostara means the balance of the earth’s gravity between the extremes of light and day- think yin and yang, the dark of Winter Solstice and the light of spring. Beltaine celebrates the sexual union of the God and Goddess and fertility.

Now is a good time to start the seedlings. I plan to start my tomatoes from seed and pumpkins too. I want to start mugwort and mandrake from seed. I just hope to find an organic seed supplier.

http://www.witchvox.com/va/dt_va.html?a=usma&c=holidays&id=1991

Blessings, Lady Spiderwitch )O(

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

