Fertilizing a Garden of Dreams

Merry meet all,

I’m excited to improve on my garden soon. I can’t wait. I have it all planned. I am sharing my knowledge with you so you can get started on your garden too. Then you will find out what I’m excited about.

I plan to buy the soil for my raised bed you saw in the photo in the previous post. I will add seaweed, earthworm casings and fertilizer to the soil. This will nourish the soil and prepares it all for the growing season. I drew a map of how I want to arrange my veggies and companion plants or herbs in the raised bed. The tomatoes and cucumber will grow in the back and the lettuce, mesclun mix, beets and peas and carrots will grow toward the front. I’m planting chives and garlic chives to grow in a row alongside the vegetables. Nasturtiums and marigolds will control the aphids. The nasturtiums attract pollinators such as bees.

First I plan to root out the weeds such as dandelions. I will layout newspaper where the soil will go. Then I plan to add the 12 or more inches of soil to fill the raised bed. I’m working in the fertilizers and compost after that. I’ll mix up the soil with the seaweed and casings and fertilizer then add my plants. Once I add the plants and I am starting my veggies from seed so I need to wait until germination. I can plant my tomato seedlings now. Then I will water my garden. I finally own a hose. I run the hose from my kitchen sink. After 8 years of using a jug. A hose saves me time and effort.

Seaweed enriches the soil, loosens up compact soil, deters weeds and repels slugs. The seaweed when dry also adds salt to soil but as I live in an area where there is a lot of rain, the salt won’t be a problem. The dry seaweed works in through the soil and adds nutrients such as beneficial trace nutrients which stimulates plant growth. It is rich in carbohydrates which helps plant growth. Seaweed keeps soil moist at ground level.

Apply the seaweed over the soil surface. In a few days it will mix into the soil. Apply more after that. The seaweed will be dry from the garden center. It breaks down and adds its nutrients to the soil. It can be mixed with other mulch. Keep the seaweed away from plant stems.

Worms are good for soil. Soil is tiny insects, tiny microbes. Good soil contains earthworms. Earthworms aerate the soil and remove toxins from the soil. They increase the life of microbes which benefits the soil. They are obviously earth friendly. They are loaded with trace nutrients and and are time released. When it comes time for my veggies to be transplanted, my soil will be more than nutrient rich. Veggies need far more potassium and phosphorus than nitrogen which burns plants.

I can’t wait to work on my garden. The birds visit the feeder, the squirrels also visit the feeder and the cats graze or hold territory wars in the garden. The birds eat the bugs and spread seeds and the cat’s fur disperses seeds. Squirrels can sometimes plant flowers or seeds in the garden because they hide seeds but forget where they planted them. Bees pollinate the flowers, herbs and veggies. Butterflies and dragonflies are also excellent pollinators. My garden is an ecosystem and it all works in harmony. I never use pesticides. I will post more on how to work a garden in the future.

 

Blessed Be, Lady Spiderwitch )O(

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

